Reflections on Year One of Rolling Out AI in School (Part 1?)

I’m not quite sure if this will be a series of blogs or just this one, but here it goes.

As I near the end of the first academic year of introducing AI into our school, it’s clear the journey hasn’t been without its hurdles. Even as I write this, my plans for next year have hit a few snags. This just stresses the importance of having a plan, a backup plan, and then a backup plan for that backup.

There were definitely times I could have thrown in the towel. But why didn’t I? Because the impact of AI on society is undeniable, and it’s only going to grow. We may not fully feel it yet, but it’s coming.

Don’t Let Perfect Be the Enemy of Good

Current AI isn’t perfect. Even Sam Altman, the CEO of OpenAI, has admitted it. However, ChatGPT is already good enough for me to see a real impact on my teaching, workload, and even my quality of life. Yet, as it frees up more time, I’ve found myself taking on new challenges and projects… which leads me to my next point.

Don’t Plan a Conference? 😉

Well, maybe think twice. Some of my AI rollout plans got swallowed up by planning AIDUCATION’24. It was an incredible event, but I vastly underestimated the time commitment involved.

Would I have been able to pull off the event without AI? Absolutely not. AI was my co-pilot, helping me plan social media, build the website, and navigate roadblocks. I often found myself prompting ChatGPT with “You are a marketing expert,” a refreshing change from the usual “You are a teacher.”

While the conference did divert some focus from internal CPD on AI and edtech, that’s something I’m proactively planning for future events. The connections I made and the inspiration I gained were invaluable.

So you should probably maybe plan one if you want…I’m doing it again!

Find Your Why, and Listen to Others’ Whys and Why Nots

“Why AI?” and “Why teach students this?” are questions I’ve been asked a lot. It’s not always easy to articulate, but here’s the gist of my thinking:

  • AI is here to stay. It’s not going anywhere, so why not understand how it works?
  • AI hasn’t fully impacted education yet, but it has enormous potential. Our students will be working and interacting with AI in the future, so it’s crucial they learn how to do so effectively.
  • I have two young daughters, and I want to be prepared for the unknown future they’ll face.

The Perception Filter

Look, I’m all about being open and sharing my experiences on LinkedIn. It’s a fantastic platform for connecting with educators and sparking conversations. But let’s be real, it’s also a professional space, a place where colleagues and bosses might stumble upon my posts. So, yeah, sometimes I have to rein it in a bit, especially when things aren’t going quite as planned. But honestly, those moments of frustration and those unfiltered thoughts often ignite a spark, leading to new ideas and fresh perspectives that I can then share with the community in a more refined and constructive way.

What Has AI Changed?

In a practical sense, maybe not that much…yet. However, I feel AI has injected this incredible energy into the way we talk about education. It’s making us question everything – the why, the how, and the impact it has on our students and the world around us. It’s challenged what we’ve always assumed and opened up a whole new world of possibilities. It’s exciting, to be honest.

Number 42: The Ever-Evolving Quest for the Meaning of Education

The answer, it seems, isn’t as simple as 42 (or is it?). If you’d asked me a year ago about the purpose of education, my answer would be light-years away from what I’d say now.

The people I’ve met and the conversations I’ve had have opened my eyes to so many possibilities. There are so many brilliant ideas and passionate educators out there who are challenging the status quo and pushing the boundaries of what education can be. So, a heartfelt thank you to everyone who shares their ideas, their experiences, and most importantly, challenges my thinking.

The Backup of the Backup of the Backup

I think this will wrap it up for now. I started writing this blog a little while ago, amidst a few interruptions (and a much-needed coffee break, I might add). To be honest, I began this post after receiving some, well, let’s just say less-than-ideal news about my plans for AI next year. But writing this has lifted my spirits.

As promised, here are some lessons learned and a sketch of a plan:

  1. Write a policy. Get your thoughts about AI’s role in your school down on paper. It’s a helpful exercise to solidify your thoughts, even if it needs tweaking along the way.
  2. Be patient. Most people won’t see AI as a priority right away.
  3. Work with people. Assemble a team of staff who are eager to experiment. Include a member of the leadership team, or at least have their support.
  4. Get hands-on. You and your team need to be the champions of this initiative. Be approachable, supportive, and make time for others.
  5. Speak with IT. Access to AI can be a challenge on school networks (for staff and students). Streamline the process and test everything beforehand.
  6. Speak to people. Find out why some staff are keen on AI, and why others aren’t. Tailor your message accordingly. If you don’t have an answer to a question, take the time to find a good one.
  7. Think long-term. Change takes time. My early mistake was assuming everyone would be on board with “AI in education” (I don’t know why I thought it would be an easy sell). Now, I’m focused on the long game.
  8. Don’t call it AI. It sounds silly, but it still spooks some people. “Digital” tends to work better.

This year has been a whirlwind, and I’ve barely scratched the surface of the AI in education journey. There are countless stories, strategies, and lessons that have probably slipped my mind while writing this.

It’s feeling like I will be typing up another entry in the next few days.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started